Who and What are Coalition for Marriage?

There’s a new campaining body on the move – Coalition for Marriage (or C4M as they like to shorten it) have suddenly popped up and started making a lot of noise about traditional marriage, and the dangers of redefining it. There are a number of things that strike me as odd, so I accepted their invitation to “Contact Us” and sent them a few questions I think it would be helpful to answer.

I sent them my questions via their webform. Let’s see how they respond. The full text of my message:

You may have noticed a certain amount of discussion about your organisation and aims on Twitter today, in particular relating to your precise identity and that of your backers.

As someone who blogs anonymously, I appreciate that you may wish to keep your identity concealed, although I would be interested in an answer on that count. But I’m particularly interested in your aims, and I was wondering if you’d be prepared to answer a few questions.

First, I’m interested in your precise long-term goals. What would make you believe you’d been successful? Is there any possible end-point to this campaign, or are you always going to be battling to maintain the status quo?

Second, could you point to some of the evidence you mention in support of traditional marriage? You say on your About Us page that there is a substantial body of evidence that changing the definition of marriage would damage society, but I haven’t been able to find any on your site, and would like to check it out.

Third, what would you consider to be redefining traditional marriage? Would you consider civil partnerships to do this, for example, or is it only if they’re called “marriage”? What’s your position on divorce, marriages of convenience and arranged marriages?

Finally, do you have a target for your petition? At what point will you feel that your point has been made, and broad public opposition to redefinition of marriage has been demonstrated?

I would be grateful for a response. This is an intriguing campaign, and I would like to ensure that I understand your position fully.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Naturally, I’ll post any response when I get it.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About Recovering Agnostic

I'm Christian by upbringing, agnostic by belief, cynical by temperament, broadly scientific in approach, and looking for answers. My main interest at the moment is in turning my current disengaged shrug into at least a working hypothesis.

6 responses to “Who and What are Coalition for Marriage?”

  1. procrastin8or says :

    A shame you didn’t point out that “traditional marriage” in the biblical sense includes rape victims being forced to marry their attackers, the right for a man to have concubines, for a woman whose husband dies (and never gave birth as a result of that marriage) is then obliged to marry his brother.

    Or are you waiting for confirmation of their religious motivation to point these out?

    • Recovering Agnostic says :

      I’d like to find out what they actually stand for before saying anything more. I have a pretty clear idea of what their motivations are, but they’re being a bit opaque, so I want to get it from the horse’s mouth.

      I’m definitely going to post more on this at some point, whether they reply or not.

      • procrastin8or says :

        No problem, I assumed they were rhetorical questions. I look forward to seeing whether you get a reply.

      • procrastin8or says :

        Thought you might be interested that Ben Goldacre has commented on their mysterious nature on his personal blog here

      • Recovering Agnostic says :

        Thanks, I’m following Ben on Twitter so I’ve had regular updates on that, and it’s why I didn’t make a big deal about their identity. It’s definitely worth mentioning Ben’s blog for anyone who hasn’t been aware of it.

        The response is interesting, isn’t it? Makes it look very much like a deliberate decision to remain opaque, rather than an accidental oversight.

      • procrastin8or says :

        Makes one wonder what they are hiding.

Love it? Hate it? Leave a comment

