Fundie God Dictation Bible: Matthew 6:5-6

This is dedicated to Bideford Town Council, Eric Pickles, Baroness Warsi, and all their fellow travellers who equate religious freedom with permission to enforce corporate prayer in the guise of public service.

And when you pray, do not be like the hypocrites, for they love to pray standing in the synagogues and on the street corners to be seen by others. Truly I tell you, they have received their reward in full. But when you pray, go into your room, close the door and pray to your Father, who is unseen. Then your Father, who sees what is done in secret, will reward you. But if you want to go for the jackpot, try to use your position to coerce other people to join in publicly with your prayers. I’m on performance-related bonuses based on prayer numbers, but there’s no quality control, so if you help out to inflate my results, I’ll be happy to pass on some of the profits. You know I’ve never really cared about sincerity – it’s all about numbers.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About Recovering Agnostic

I'm Christian by upbringing, agnostic by belief, cynical by temperament, broadly scientific in approach, and looking for answers. My main interest at the moment is in turning my current disengaged shrug into at least a working hypothesis.

7 responses to “Fundie God Dictation Bible: Matthew 6:5-6”

  1. Thinker says :

    It’s funny, I was really looking forward to reading your posts. You seemed to be genuinely working through some questions, tackling worth while issues. And I thought this would be helpful as I am wrestling with some of the same questions.

    But increasingly your posts just seem a bit bitter, and bit anti-faith. Not really that helpful for those of us who are genuinely seeking answers.

    Anyway, I hope you are able to work through whatever you are needing to…

    • 2012 and all that says :

      The thing about working through questions is that it is important to put negative thoughts.

      If it is affirmations you seek then perhaps Recovering Agnostic’s blog might not be the right place for you. He is entitled to post his own thoughts on his own blog, positive and negative. Working through the negative is an important part of making up your own mind on these issues – I feel it is harmful to attempt to drown out these thoughts with empty platitudes.

      • Thinker says :

        2012, I agree with you.

        RA is of course entitled to share his opinions in his posts, many of which are pretty well considered and argued, and to share them on his public blog.

        On the other hand, I guess I as an interested reader of his public blog have the right to comment on it; the same right as you do too?

        Not sure why you thought I was looking for platitudes. I’ve already said I’m looking at the same questions as he is/was.

        I just think there is a difference between working through questions about faith and being intentionally provocative. You’re right. Maybe this is not the blog I thought it was going to be.

        Shame really…

      • Recovering Agnostic says :

        I’m not really sure what you’re trying to achieve here. I get that you feel that my blog isn’t scratching your itch, I’m just not sure why you feel the need to say so in this way, when all I’m doing is turning my thoughts into pixels. It’s not like I can change the direction of my thoughts, or the things that interest me. I come across lots of blogs which don’t appeal to me, but I don’t think it makes sense to complain that I want more sport on a music blog.

        And I’m particularly puzzled by the accusation (which I assume it is – it reads that way) of bitterness. I don’t think there’s anything wrong necessarily with being bitter, I just don’t see it. I assume from the context that this post was the final straw for you, but it’s just a playful way of making the rather banal point that people read the Bible selectively. I can categorically state that there’s no hint of bitterness in it. I’ve looked at some other posts which I thought may have come across that way, but I still can’t see the bitterness that I’m accused of.

        And now you think I’m being intentionally provocative. Again, I don’t think I am, but I suppose that depends on how you define the words. As far as I can see, the only intentionally provocative thing I’m doing is asking myself awkward questions, and everything else is flowing from that. So if you find my posts provocative, maybe we’ve got something in common.

        So I’m rather confused by your misreading of what I write, and your assessment of my character based on a few posts. But if you’re not getting anything out of it, there’s obviously no point in you continuing to read.

      • 2012 and all that says :

        On the other hand, I guess I as an interested reader of his public blog have the right to comment on it; the same right as you do too?

        Of course we do but it seems you are asking him to approach it from an angle which appeals to your sentiment and perhaps bury his own thoughts.

        If I find that blogs I visit don’t appeal to me then I don’t read them. If I subscribed to a blog that no longer appeals, I unsubscribe.

        I too feel that his opinions are well-thought, even the ones I disagree with. Again, negative expressions are an important part of seeking answers to these questions. Shutting out negative opinions or ignoring inconvenient truths.gives the impression that you seek only affirmations and platitudes.

  2. 2012 and all that says :

    It does seem that way sometimes, doesn’t it?

    From the pov of religious institutions, there seems to be a fallacious attitude that weight of numbers somehow proves the validity of the belief itself. It is absurd.

  3. Vince Chough says :

    Our righteousness must exceed that of the scribes and pharisees…

Love it? Hate it? Leave a comment

