FGD Bible: I will send another comforter

Rowan Williams is in the news again. In preparation for his departure from Lambeth Palace, he’s been interviewed by the Torygraph, leading to lots of comment about what he said, including his admission that he got things wrong, his regrets that he failed to communicate well, and the reported plans for a “President of the Anglican Communion”. I can’t resist an invitation like that.

In Jesus’ alternative words from John 16:

Truly I say to you, it is for your good that I am going. Unless I go, the comforter will not come to you. But if I go, he will be sent to you. And when he comes, he will show the world to be wrong about sin and righteousness and judgment. His main strength will be getting his message across clearly, because sometimes people just don’t seem to get the point of my parables, and they don’t really fit into the sort of soundbites that a 24-hour news culture expects.

Give to Caesar what is Caesar’s. But it’s important to communicate such an unpopular policy effectively.

And he will have a president to attend to the big picture. Actually, it would have been really helpful to have someone with overall responsibility for the whole world, because quite frankly, I’ve got enough on my plate just dealing with Galilee. Do you have any idea how long it takes to get from Nazareth to Capernaum by donkey? It’s no wonder that I can’t travel to Jerusalem as often as I’d like.

On that subject, maybe the president could also talk to disaffected factions and do all the dirty political wrangling. He could start by meeting with the Roman authorities, so that they understand our position and there’s no danger of misunderstandings. And it would be important to speak to the Pharisees on a regular basis, to listen to their concerns and take them on board. I think I’ve failed to really connect with those groups in particular – they just seem to see me as a hairy lefty.

I’m sure we’ll be able to talk it over and make up once I’ve retired.

Photo by clarita, used under morgueFile License

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About Recovering Agnostic

I'm Christian by upbringing, agnostic by belief, cynical by temperament, broadly scientific in approach, and looking for answers. My main interest at the moment is in turning my current disengaged shrug into at least a working hypothesis.

Love it? Hate it? Leave a comment

