Christmas – Dontcha just love/hate it?

I love Christmas.
I love the excuse for a really huge celebration.
I love thoughtful surprises and getting things that I really wanted, and I love giving presents that I know they’ll love.
I love the building anticipation as the day itself approaches, and the sense of a huge corporate festival.
It’s great to always get together with the entire family for a big celebration, coming back to all our traditions year after year.
I love the simple excitement of small children, and the enjoyment that they get from the magical idea that Father Christmas flies around the world in a sleigh pulled by reindeer to deliver their presents.

I hate Christmas.
I hate the pressure to spend huge amounts of money.
I hate wastefully being given things I don’t want or need, and I hate trying to find presents for people who don’t seem to want anything.
I hate the way it all starts in November at the latest, and how everyone expects you to join in with all their celebrations.
It’s terrible to always have to fit in with other people without enough space, being expected to fit in with others’ expectations because it’s traditional.
I hate the uncontainable overexcitement of small children, and the expectation that you’ll play along with the lie that Father Christmas flies around the world in a sleigh pulled by reindeer to deliver their presents.

Someone please tell me I’m not alone!

Photos by jaqian and popofatticus, used under Creative Commons Generic Attribution License 2.0

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About Recovering Agnostic

I'm Christian by upbringing, agnostic by belief, cynical by temperament, broadly scientific in approach, and looking for answers. My main interest at the moment is in turning my current disengaged shrug into at least a working hypothesis.

2 responses to “Christmas – Dontcha just love/hate it?”

  1. 2012 and all that says :

    Hallulujah, Noel, Be it Heaven or Hell… The Christmas we get we deserve – Greg Lake

    Some of my best Christmases was as a student I didn’t have a lot of money to spend. We went to Christmas markets and festivals, spending very little money and just soaking up the atmosphere, enjoying a glass of mulled wine, “oohing” and “aaahing” at the lights.

    The season is what you make of it. I hope you enjoy yours this year 🙂

    • Recovering Agnostic says :

      I love that song. It’s so cynical and jaded, it’s a far more grown up treatment of Christmas than all the “isn’t it great” bubblegum pop.

      The thing about children is where this all began. People often talk as if children are the best thing about Christmas, and I do think their simple joy is wonderful, but it’s also a nightmare trying to keep a lid on it. Ours have been at fever pitch for the whole of December, and they’re already having trouble sleeping with days to go. Perspective is everything, which I suppose is my point.

Love it? Hate it? Leave a comment

