Ten Hundred Word Theology

xkcd386You may know about the Up-Goer Five. It’s a computer thing that makes you explain hard ideas using only the ten hundred most used words. It’s surprising how hard it is, as this man found. This gave me an idea.

I’m writing this now using Up-Goer Five, to say that I will soon be writing things where I try to explain ideas about God (or ‘theology’) using only these words. One of the words in the last bit wasn’t allowed, but it was fine with little talking marks around it. That’s nice, but it might be a bad thing to use them too much.

I once said that things about God are hard to talk about because the words we use never help. If we try to explain with other words, it becomes very hard to understand and it makes no sense. I think it should be possible to talk about important things with just these ten hundred words. People have explained some very hard ideas like this, so I want to see if God ideas can be done as well.

If you like this, please also see my friend’s writing where he writes about news with ten hundred words.

Picture from ‘xkcd’ #386. I’m allowed to use it.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About Recovering Agnostic

I'm Christian by upbringing, agnostic by belief, cynical by temperament, broadly scientific in approach, and looking for answers. My main interest at the moment is in turning my current disengaged shrug into at least a working hypothesis.

2 responses to “Ten Hundred Word Theology”

  1. theaspirationalagnostic says :

    Sounds interesting. And hard. If I tried this, my brain would explode. I’m happy to watch you do it, though!

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Ten Hundred Word Trinity | Recovering Agnostic - March 17, 2013

Love it? Hate it? Leave a comment

